Marc Bergevin, Bob Murray, Ray Shero finalists for NHL GM of the Year award

Monday May 13th, 2013

Montreal Canadiens' GM Marc Bergevin is one of three finalists for the GM of the Year award. (Richard Wolowicz/Getty Images) Montreal Canadiens' GM Marc Bergevin is one of three finalists for the GM of the Year award. (Richard Wolowicz/Getty Images)

The NHL announced its three finalists for the 2012-2013 GM of the Year award on Monday morning: Marc Bergevin of the Montreal Canadiens, Bob Murray of the Anaheim Ducks and Ray Shero of the Pittsburgh Penguins. All three are finalists for the first time.

In Bergevin's first season as an NHL GM, the Canadiens were the NHL's most improved club. Last season, the Canadiens finished fifth in the Northeast Division and 28th overall. This season, the Canadiens went 29-14-5 to clinch the Northeast title and Eastern Conference's No. 2 seed on the last day of the season.

Ducks' GM Murray oversaw the club's best regular season in franchise history, nabbing the Pacific Division and No. 2 seed in the Western conference, going 30-12-6. Murray made a key signing with Sweden native Vikto Fasth as a free agent last May. Fasth went 15-6-2 with a 2.18 GAA and .921 save percentage in his first season in North America.

Shero made strong additions to an already-loaded roster throughout the year, propelling the Penguins to a 36-12-0 record and heading to the playoffs for the seventh consecutive season. The Penguins also nabbed their first Atlantic Division since 2008 and the No. 1 seed in the Eastern Conference. Shero signed center Brandon Sutter and goaltender Tomas Vokoun in offseason trades. Later, Shero reeled in RW Jarome Iginla, along with LW Brenden Morrow, C Jussi Jokinen and D Douglas Murray leading up to the trade deadline. Pittsburgh saw 15 consecutive wins from March 2-30, the second-longest winning streak in NHL history and the League's longest streak in 20 years.

The winner of the GM of the Year award will be announced during the Stanley Cup Final.

NHL AWARDS: Hart Trophy | Norris Trophy | Vezina Trophy | Calder Trophy
SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.