By Scooby Axson
September 19, 2013

University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Ariz will bid to host the 2016 college football championship. (Christian Petersen/Getty Images) Univ. of Phoenix Stadium hopes to host the 2016 college football championship. (Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Four cities will place bids to host the 2016 College Football Playoff championship, with three new cities joining three of the 2016 bidders to pursue the 2017 title game, reports

The deadline to submit requests for proposals to bid on the 2016 and/or 2017 College Football Playoff is next Friday, Sept. 27.

Bids are expected to receive a vote in November by 10 FBS commissioners and Notre Dame athletic director Jack Swarbrick.

The cities that will bid on the 2016 championship, to played on Jan. 11, are: Glendale, Ariz., Jacksonville, Fla., New Orleans and Tampa, Fla.

Jacksonville; Miami; New Orleans; San Antonio, Texas; San Francisco; and Tampa will bid on the Jan. 9, 2017 game, according to the report. AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, will host the first College Football Playoff championship on Jan. 12, 2015.

MANDEL: COLLEGE FOOTBALL MAILBAG: Analyzing AJ McCarron's Heisman prospects; more mail

The Rose Bowl, which will host the final BCS championship on Jan. 7, 2014,  will not host the 2016 or 2017 title games.

"The Tournament of Roses chose not to submit a bid for the national championship for the 2016 and 2017 games," the Rose Bowl said in a statement. "The Association continues to evaluate the prospects for the 2018 game including the financial obligations, community support and regional involvement. The Association will use the upcoming BCS National Championship in Pasadena to continue the assessment process."

You May Like