By Brendan Maloy
April 20, 2014

Chris Paul had 28 points and 8 rebounds in the Clippers Game 1 loss. (Andrew D. Bernstein/National Basketball/Getty Images) Chris Paul had 28 points and 8 rebounds in the Clippers Game 1 loss. (Andrew D. Bernstein/National Basketball/Getty Images)

The NBA has said Los Angeles Clippers point guard Chris Paul should have been awarded two free throws at the end of Saturday's game against the Golden State Warriors, according to Arash Markazi of ESPN.

With 18.9 seconds remaining in the game Paul was bumped by Draymond Green and subsequently lost control of the ball, which went out of bounds. Instead of going to the line for two free throws which could have tied the game, the referees awarded the ball to the Warriors, who held on to win the first game of the series, 109-105.

SI WIRE: Lakers' Jim Buss says he will step down if team not contending in '3 or 4 years'

NBA president of basketball operations released a statement on the no-call on Sunday, emphasizing that the refs could not have reviewed the call on the court by rule.

"Just prior to the ball going out-of-bounds, Paul was fouled by Green and Paul should have been granted two free throws. Contact preceding out-of-bounds calls is not a reviewable matter.”.

— Arash Markazi (@ArashMarkazi) April 20, 2014

You May Like