Sidney Crosby, Ryan Getzlaf and Claude Giroux named Hart Trophy finalists

Thursday May 1st, 2014

Pittsburgh Penguins star Sidney Crosby was the only NHL player to record 100 or more points. (AP Photo/Gene J. Puskar) Penguins star Sidney Crosby scored points in 60 of the 80 games he played this season. (AP Photo/Gene J. Puskar)

Pittsburgh Penguins forward Sidney Crosby, Anaheim Ducks forward Ryan Getzlaf and Philadelphia Flyers forward Claude Giroux were named the three finalists for the 2013-14 Hart Memorial Trophy, the NHL announced Thursday.

The award goes "to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team." Washington Capitals right wing Alexander Ovechkin won the award last season.

Crosby scored 36 goals, led the league with 68 assists and was the only NHL player to record 100 points this season. He won the Art Ross Trophy for the second time and was the NHL MVP runner-up last season.

Getzlaf scored a career-high 31 goals and was second in the League with 87 points, while Giroux matched a career-high with 28 goals and finished third in the NHL in scoring with 86 points.

MUIR: Top Line: Sharks reach new depths; cold comfort for Avs; more links

Getzlaf and Giroux are Hart Trophy finalists for the first time. The winner will be announced June 24 during the 2014 NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.