Velez edges Huracan to win Argentine title

Publish date:

Thanks to a much-disputed goal from Maximiliano Moralez late in the second half, Velez Sarsfield defeated Huracan 1-0 to win the Argentine Championship for the first time in four years.

The first half was very evenly contested as both teams battled in the midfield with a lot of determination. It seemed that Eduardo Dominguez had given Huracan the lead, but his headed goal was disallowed for a nonexistent offside infringement.

In the 19th minute the match was put on hold due to a torrential hail storm. But when the match resumed, Velez took the initiative as it went looking for a goal.

However, it was Huracan who came closest to scoring, when another powerful header from Dominguez hit the woodwork. Federico Nieto couldn't take advantage of the rebound.

In the 26th minute Velez was awarded a penalty for a clear foul in the area. Uruguayan striker Rodrigo Lopez stepped up to the spot, but his effort was saved by Gaston Monzon.

Huracan was completely on top at this point, as Javier Pastore and Matias De Federico took command of the midfield.

In the second period Velez pushed forward desperately as it searched for a much-needed goal, while a confident Huracan looked to take advantage of the holes Velez left in its defence.

But when it seemed that Huracan were about to lift the title, with seven minutes left in the game, Moralez struck for Velez.

Huracan goalkeeper Monzon went for a cross and was knocked over by Velez striker Joaquin Larrivey. The goal was there for the taking and Moralez fired the ball home -- he was then dismissed for taking off his shirt during his goal celebration.

Thus, Velez Sarsfield claimed the title in highly controversial fashion, while Huracan finished in second place. Lanus ended the season in third after beating San Martin 3-2.

Colon de Santa Fe ended the season fourth, despite a 3-1 defeat to Boca Juniors on Saturday.

In other matches, Estudiantes de La Plata edged River Plate 2-1, San Lorenzo thrashed Argentinos Juniors 3-0 and Gimnasia de La Plata defeated Gimnasia de Jujuy 2-0.

Lanus striker Jose Sand ended the season as the league's top-scorer with 13 goals. He was followed by Daniel Montenegro, Esteban Fuertes (both 12 goals) and Hernan Lopez (11 goals).