Skip to main content
Publish date:

Stanford, USA forward Jordan Morris a finalist for Hermann Trophy

Stanford and U.S. men's national team forward Jordan Morris is a finalist for college soccer's Hermann Trophy.

Stanford and U.S. men's national team forward Jordan Morris is one of three male finalists for college soccer's Hermann Trophy, given annually to the country's top player. 

Morris is joined by Georgetown's Brandon Allen and Creighton's Fabian Herbers on the men's side, while a trio of CONCACAF internationals are finalists on the women's side: USA's Emily Sonnet (Virginia), Canada's Kadeisha Buchanan (West Virginia) and Costa Rica's Raquel Rodriguez (Penn State). The three finalists for each honor where named from a shortlist of 15 semifinalists.

Morris helped guide Stanford to this weekend's College Cup, and he scored 11 goals in 16 appearances for the Cardinal while missing five games due to international commitments. His year also included scoring against Mexico in an April friendly and helping the U.S. Under-23 national team to a playoff against Colombia for a final berth at next summer's Olympics. Morris has reportedly been offered the biggest contract for an MLS homegrown player in league history by the Seattle Sounders, which the junior has yet to act on one way or the other.

Morris's Stanford plays Akron in one national semifinal, while Syracuse and Clemson duel in the other on Friday night in Kansas City, Kansas.

SI Recommends

As for Herbers, he scored 15 goals and had 17 assists for Creighton, which reached the NCAA quarterfinals, while Allen had 12 goals and seven assists for the Hoyas.

Sonnet has been a recent addition to the U.S. women's team, while Buchanan won honors as the Best Young Player at this past summer's FIFA Women's World Cup. Rodriguez helped Penn State claim its first national championship, scoring the winning goal in a 1-0 triumph over Duke.

The winners will be announced on Jan. 8 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis. Leo Stolz (UCLA) and Morgan Brian (Virginia) won last year.