Skip to main content

MetLife Stadium to host 2016 Copa America Centenario final

MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., will host the final of the 2016 Copa America Centenario tournament on June 26.
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J., will host the final of the 2016 Copa America Centenario tournament on June 26, U.S. Soccer announced on Wednesday.

The 16-team tournament, which includes 10 teams from CONMEBOL and six teams from CONCACAF, will be played at 10 venues throughout the United States from June 3 to 26.

The 2016 Copa America, the South American championship, will mark the first time the tournament has been hosted outside of South America.

CONCACAF confirms 10 sites for 2016 Copa America Centenario

SI Recommends

The 16-team format is also a Copa America first, as the tournament typically consists of 12 teams, the 10 South American federations in CONMEBOL and two invitees. Along with the South American countries, the United States, Mexico, Costa Rica and Jamaica have been named as participants so far. Panama, Cuba, Trinidad and Tobago and Haiti are competing in the Copa America Centenario playoffs to determine the final two countries.

U.S. Soccer: Copa America Centenario will go on despite arrests

The revamped format of the Copa America is in honor of the 100th anniversary of the first international tournament between South American countries.

Chile won the 2015 Copa America, its first win after four runner-up performances, while Uruguay has been the most successful participant, winning the tournament 15 times.