NWSL announces full 2016 schedule

The NWSL announced its full 2016 schedule on Thursday.
Publish date:

The NWSL announced its full 2016 schedule on Thursday.

Changes from previous seasons were revealed in the league’s scheduling format in an attempt to reduce travel expenses and create rivalries.

In 2016, each of the ten teams will play one regional opponent four times, while the other 16 regular season games will feature one home and one away match against the remaining eight clubs. 

The schedule also contains a break in action between Aug. 1 and Aug. 25 for the Rio Olympics.

The six-month season begins April 16 when the Houston Dash host the Chicago Red Stars, the Boston Breakers take on the Washington Spirit and the Western New York Flash face FC Kansas City, the defending NWSL champions.

• WAHL: FIFPro reveals first Women’s World XI​​

The league introduced its 10th team this off-season with the addition of the Orlando Pride.

See the full 2016 schedule here.