Switzerland's Timea Bacsinszky wins Mexico Open

ACAPULCO, Mexico (AP) Fifth-seeded Timea Bacsinszky of Switzerland won the Mexico Open on Saturday night for her second WTA Tour title, beating third-seeded Caroline Garcia of France 6-3, 6-0.

The 25-year-old Bacsinszky also won the 2009 Luxembourg Open.

In the men's final in the hard-court event at The Fairmont Acapulco Princess, top-seeded Kei Nishikori of Japan faced second-seeded David Ferrer of Spain. Nishikori won in Memphis, Tennessee, two weeks ago for his eighth tour title. Ferrer swept the 2010-12 Mexican Open titles, all on clay.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.