Five future Final Four host cities announced

0:41 | College Basketball
Five future Final Four host cities announced
Friday November 14th, 2014

With the 2014-15 college basketball season kicking off on Friday, the NCAA announced the Final Four host cities for 2017 through 2021. 

The 2017 Final Four will be held in Phoenix, 2018 in San Antonio, 2019 in Minneapolis, 2020 in Atlanta and 2021 in Indianapolis. 

The five cities were chosen from a list of eight bidding finalists that also included New Orleans, North Texas (Arlington) and St. Louis. Originally, the NCAA was only going to announce through the 2020 Final Four, but awarded the 2021 one to Indianapolis because of a "long-term contractual relationship that guarantees the Men's Final Four will be held regularly in the city."

Sixty-eight things to watch for as the college basketball season starts

The 2017 Final Four, to be played at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona, will be the first Final Four held on the West Coast since Seattle hosted it in 1995.

This season's Final Four is set to be held at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, while the 2016 one will be held at NRG Stadium in Houston.

"The fact we had sites selected from the West, South, North, East and Midwest, and have five sites in three different time zones, is reflected in the votes," said Scott Barnes, chair of the Division I men's basketball committee. "The discussion during this meeting centered on growing the game of college basketball and, most importantly, creating a positive experience for student-athletes and fans. We think we’ve accomplished that, and we’re obviously very excited."

- Molly Geary

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.