The finalists have been announced for the 2015 Heisman Trophy. 

By SI Wire
December 07, 2015

Three players were named finalists for the 2015 Heisman Trophy live on ESPN Monday—Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson and Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey. 

The Heisman will be awarded on Saturday night in New York City. The ceremony begins at 8 p.m. ET on ESPN. 


RB Derrick Henry, Alabama:

Henry leads the list of Heisman finalists after a dominant regular season in Tuscaloosa. After waiting in the backup role behind T.J Yeldon in 2014, Henry got the chance to show why he was five-star prospect coming out of high school, rushing for 1,986 yards and 23 touchdowns on 339 carries. Henry would be the second Alabama running back to win the Heisman in the last seven years. Mark Ingram took home college football’s highest honor in 2009. 

QB Deshaun Watson, Clemson:

Watson is a solid contender for the Heisman as he has led Clemson into the College Football Playoff while putting together one of the top statistical seasons in the country. The sophomore has exploded in his first full season with the Tigers, throwing for 5,312 yards, 30 touchdowns and 11 interceptions. He has also been a major threat on the ground, rushing for 887 yards and 11 touchdowns. 

RB Christian McCaffrey, Stanford:

Just a sophomore, McCaffrey broke the NCAA single-season record for all-purpose yards this season, topping Barry Sanders’ total of 3,250 last week against USC. McCaffrey couldn’t push the Cardinal into the playoff, but he still put up arguably the most dominant season in school history. He finished the regular season with 1,847 yards and eight touchdowns on the ground, to go along with 540 yards and four touchdowns through the air. McCaffrey was Stanford’s leading rusher and receiver, while also compiling 1,042 yards on kickoff returns. 

You May Like