Alabama running back Derrick Henry is the 2015 Heisman Trophy winner.

By SI Wire
December 11, 2015

Alabama running back Derrick Henry is the 2015 Heisman Trophy winner.

Henry was announced as the winner and presented with his award on Saturday night at New York City’s Playstation Theater, beating out Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey and Clemson quarterback DeShaun Watson for the honors.

Henry rushed for an SEC-record 1,986 yards on 339 carries and 23 scores, leading the nation in rushing attempts, rushing yards and rushing touchdowns. The junior was responsible for 2,083 yards of offense, and had four 200-yard rushing games, joining Heisman winners Herschel Walker and Bo Jackson as the third SEC running back ever to do so.

Henry also holds an active streak of 18 consecutive games with a touchdown for the Crimson Tide, who are 12–1 and the No. 2 seed in the College Football Playoff, in which they will face Michigan State Dec. 31. He also won the Doak Walker, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards.

• ​​STAPLES: Henry hits the hole like a freight train, brings more to Bama

Henry was the Vegas favorite, but this year’s race looked like one of the tightest in recent memory, with no clear consensus leading up to the vote announcement. Watson won SI’s “People’s Heisman” vote, determined by readers. SI’s experts voted amongst themselves and narrowly chose McCaffrey.

Quarterbacks have won the past five awards, with former Alabama running back Mark Ingram the most recent non-QB to win the award, in 2009. Ingram was the only non-quarterback to win the Heisman since 2000, and Henry also joins him as the second Heisman winner in school history. Henry won the vote by 293 points, the slimmest margin of victory since Ingram’s win by just 28 points (a Heisman record) over Stanford running back Toby Gerhart.

• MORE: SI’s Heisman Trophy Hub

Below are the final voting results, with McCaffrey finishing second and Watson third. McCaffrey, who set the NCAA record for most all-purpose yards in one season, becomes the fourth Stanford player to finish as a Heisman runner-up, joining John Elway (1982), Gerhart (2009) and Andrew Luck (2010, 2011). 

Jeremy Woo

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)