2015 Heisman Trophy Straw Poll: SI writers and editors weigh in on race

1:05 | College Football
2015 Heisman Trophy finalists announced
Friday December 11th, 2015

The 2015 Heisman Trophy race should be one of the closest in the award's storied history. To settle on the winner, we polled 14 of Sports Illustrated's college football writers and editors to see who they thought was the most deserving. The vote was expanded beyond three players: Players received five points for a first-place vote, four points for a second-place vote, down to one point for a fifth-place nod.

So, who emerged victorious? Ten players received votes, and SI's top three matched the three Heisman finalists: Stanford's Christian McCaffrey, Clemson's Deshaun Watson and Alabama's Derrick Henry. Also receiving votes: Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield, Florida State's Dalvin Cook, LSU's Leonard Fournette, Ohio State's Ezekiel Elliott, Baylor's Corey Coleman, Navy's Keenan Reynolds and Houston's Greg Ward Jr.

2015 Heisman Trophy Straw Poll
1 McCaffrey Stanford 54
2 Watson Clemson 50
3 Henry Alabama 45
4 Mayfield Oklahoma 24
5 Cook Florida State 21
6 Fournette LSU 9
7 Elliott Ohio State 4
8 Coleman Baylor 1
8 Reynolds Navy 1
8 Ward Houston 1

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide - from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Seth Davis, and more - delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.