Skip to main content
Publish date:

Oregon QB Marcus Mariota wins Johnny Unitas Golden Arm award

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award on Monday.

Oregon quarterback Marcus Mariota won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award on Monday. The award is given annually to college football's best senior or fourth-year quarterback.

Mariota beat out four other finalists: Baylor's Bryce Petty, Mississippi State's Dak Prescott, UCLA's Brett Hundley and USC's Cody Kessler.

Mariota finished with 3,783 passing yards, 38 touchdowns and two interceptions for the 12-1 Ducks, who won the Pac-12 Championship Game on Friday with a 51-13 rout of Arizona. Mariota went 25-of-38 for 313 passing yards and two touchdowns, and also added three rushing touchdowns. As a rusher, Mariota finished second for Oregon with 117 attempts for 669 yards and 14 touchdowns.

Heisman Watch: No controversy this year -- Mariota will win

His average of 10.2 yards per attempt leads the country, while his 38 passing touchdowns rank second and his 3,783 passing yards rank fifth.

SI Recommends

“Marcus is as humble and gracious off the field as he is poised and electrifying on it,” said Andy McNamara, Assistant Athletic Director for the University of Oregon. “He is an exceptional ambassador for not just the football program, but the University of Oregon as a whole.”

Mariota will be honored for the award Friday in Baltimore. He is also expected to be named a Heisman Trophy finalist on Monday night.

Complete 2014-15 college football bowl schedule, matchups

Oregon finished No. 2 in the inaugural College Football Playoff rankings and will face No. 3 Florida State in the Rose Bowl Game on New Year's Day. The winner of that semifinal matchup will play the winner of No. 1 Alabama and No. 4 Ohio State in the College Football Playoff National Championship on Jan. 12 in Arlington, Texas.

Mike Fiammetta