Skip to main content

Frank Kaminsky, Jahlil Okafor lead Wooden Award finalists

Wooden Award announces finalists for college basketball’s top player
  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Wisconsin senior forward Frank Kaminsky and Duke freshman center Jahlil Okafor are among five finalists for the John R. Wooden Award, given to the nation's top college basketball player.

Frank Kaminsky, Jahlil Okafor lead Sports Illustrated's 2015 All-Americas

D'Angelo Russell

The five finalists are the same players who made the first-team AP All-America team, which was announced Monday.

Kaminsky averaged 18.7 points, eight rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1.5 blocks for the Badgers, leading them to their second straight Final Four berth. Wisconsin will take on Cauley-Stein and undefeated Kentucky in the second national semifinal at the Final Four in Indianapolis on Saturday.

Okafor, who was the first freshman ever to be named Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year, averaged 17.5 points and 8.7 rebounds this season. The Blue Devils will take on Michigan State in the other national semifinal.

Doug McDermott of Creighton won last year’s award.

TAYLOR: Kentucky is Final Four favorite, but title is far from automatic

The finalists for the women's Wooden Award are Baylor sophomore forward Nina Davis, Notre Dame senior guard Jewell Loyd, South Carolina junior guard Tiffany Mitchell and Connecticut teammates Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Breanna Stewart.

Stewart finished third in last year's voting, which was won by Stanford forward Chiney Ogwumike.

- Scooby Axson