Urban Meyer announces Ohio State's team captains

Urban Meyer announced Ohio State's 2015 team captains Friday.
Publish date:

Ohio State head coach Urban Meyer announced the Buckeyes' six team captains for the 2015 season Friday.

Meyer took to Twitter to announce the “incredible honor” senior center Jacoby Boren, senior offensive tackle Taylor Decker, senior linebacker Joshua Perry, senior H-back Braxton Miller, junior safety Tyvis Powell and sophomore quarterback J.T. Barrett will have as captains this season. 

The captains were selected by a team vote, not by a coach's decision.

Barrett is currently battling 2014 postseason star Cardale Jones for the starting quarterback job. Meyer has said he won’t announce the team's starter before the season opener.

Miller took over for Barrett when he reinjured his shoulder 12 days before the 2014 opener, and had a banner year for the Buckeyes with a Big Ten record 45 touchdowns, before breaking his ankle against Michigan

Jones then took over in the postseason and led Ohio State to the national title.

The Buckeyes open the 2015 season at Virginia Tech on Sept. 7.

• STAPLES: Who should be Ohio State's starting quarterback this season?

- Kayla Lombardo