Henry, McCaffrey and Watson are Maxwell Award finalists

Publish date:

Alabama running back Derrick Henry, Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson are the finalists for the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's best player.

Finalists for nine awards that will be handed out Dec. 10 during ESPN's college football award show were announced Tuesday.

The finalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award for best defensive player are Temple linebacker Tyler Matakevich, Penn State defensive end Carl Nassib and Alabama linebacker Reggie Ragland.

The Doak Walker Award finalists for best running back are Henry, McCaffrey and LSU's Leonard Fournette.

Finalists for the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award are Watson, TCU's Trevone Boykin and Oklahoma's Baker Mayfield.

The Outland Trophy for outstanding lineman finalists are Baylor tackle Spencer Drango, Stanford guard Joshua Garnett and Alabama defensive tackle A'Shawn Robinson.


Other finalists:

Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver) - Corey Coleman, Baylor; Josh Doctson, TCU; Laquon Treadwell, Mississippi.

Lou Groza Award (outstanding kicker) - Daniel Carlson, Auburn; Jake Elliott, Memphis; Ka'imi Fairbairn, UCLA

Ray Guy Award (punter of the year) - Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State; Tom Hackett, Utah; Hayden Hunt, Colorado State.

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back) - Jeremy Cash, Duke; Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida; Desmond King, Iowa.