Temple's Tyler Matakevich wins Bednarik Award for defense

Publish date:

ATLANTA (AP) Tyler Matakevich of Temple has won the Chuck Bednarik Award, given to the nation's defensive player of the year.

Matakevich, a linebacker, is the first Temple player to win the award. The award was presented on Thursday night at the College Football Hall of Fame.

It was the second major award for Matakevich. On Monday, he won the Bronko Nagurski Award, also given to the nation's top defensive player.

The 6-foot-1, 232-pound Matakevich had 126 tackles this season, including 15 for loss, along with five interceptions, 4.5 sacks and five pass breakups.

The other finalists were Penn State's Carl Nassib and Alabama's Reggie Ragland.

Arizona linebacker Scooby Wright won the 2014 award.


College Football website: www.collegefootball.ap.org