Skip to main content

Independence Bowl Capsule

  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Virginia Tech (6-6, 4-4 Atlantic Coast) vs. Tulsa (6-6, 3-5 American Athletic), 5:45 p.m. ET (ESPN)

Line: Virginia Tech by 14

Series record: Tulsa leads 3-1


Virginia Tech looks to send legendary head coach Frank Beamer out a winner in his finale. Tulsa and first-year head coach Philip Montgomery are seeking their first bowl win since the Golden Hurricane's last postseason appearance three years ago.


Tulsa enters with the nation's 11th-ranked passing offense led by quarterback Dane Evans. Virginia Tech boasts the No. 9-rated passing defense in the country.


Virginia Tech: All-ACC first-team selections Isaiah Ford (WR) and Luther Maddy (DT). Ford, a sophomore, led the ACC in receiving yards (937) and receiving touchdowns (10). He broke two single-season school records during the year, including the touchdown receptions mark and overall receptions (63). He is 26 receiving yards shy of eclipsing the school record for a season. Maddy, a senior, had 54 tackles, including 6.5 for loss and two sacks.

Tulsa: Senior wide receiver Keyarris Garrett is the second-leading receiver in the country with 1,451 yards. He needs 272 receiving yards to become Tulsa's all-time leading receiver. He needs 94 yards to surpass the nation's leader this year, Roger Lewis (of Bowling Green), who has already played his bowl game.


Virginia Tech is making its third Independence Bowl appearance (L, 1984; W, 1993) . Saturday will mark the Hokies' 23rd straight bowl appearance under Beamer. The streak began in this game in 1993 . Beamer is 10-12 in bowl games at Virginia Tech . Hokies quarterback Michael Brewer played high school football (Lake Travis, Texas) with Tulsa wide receiver Conner Floyd. Brewer was also recruited by current Tulsa head coach Philip Montgomery, who was then the offensive coordinator at Baylor . Tulsa is also making its third Indy Bowl appearance (L, 1976; L, 1989). The Golden Hurricane fell to McNeese State 20-16 in the inaugural postseason game at Independence Stadium.