Conferences under 12 members can hold championship games

The NCAA DI Council approved a proposal allowing FBS conferences without 12 members to hold conference championship football games. 
Publish date:

The NCAA DI Council approved a proposal allowing FBS conferences without 12 members to hold conference championship football games.

Big 12 Conference Commissioner Bob Bowlsby issued the following statement since his conference only holds 10 members and is the only Power 5 conference that does not host a conference championship.

“I appreciate that what was acted upon today takes into account our unique 10-team, full round-robin scheduling model. However, this vote does not automatically mean the Big 12 will implement a football championship game. Our membership will continue to analyze its pros and cons, as we now know the requirements should we decide to go down that path.”

In 2014, TCU and Baylor were named co-champions of the conference and failed to make the College Football Playoff despite their 11–1 record.

Howard, Watson lead's All–Bowl Team

SEC president Greg Sankey was opposed to the legislation as it was originally proposed.

- Christopher Chavez