Skip to main content

Oklahoma State wrestler Alex Dieringer wins Hodge Trophy

  • Author:
  • Publish date:

Oklahoma State's Alex Dieringer has been named this year's winner of the Hodge Trophy, which is awarded to the nation's top collegiate wrestler.

Dieringer received what's known as the Heisman Trophy of Wrestling on Monday after he went 33-0 as a senior with eight pins and seven technical falls.

He won his third NCAA title earlier this month, beating Wisconsin's Isaac Jordan at 165 pounds.

Penn State's Zain Retherford was second in voting for the Hodge Trophy.

Ohio State's Kyle Snyder, who won a world championship last year in Las Vegas, was third despite spending much of the season training for the upcoming Olympic Team Trials rather than wrestle for the Buckeyes.

Dieringer and Snyder will compete for a spot on the U.S. team for the Rio Olympics next weekend in Iowa City, Iowa.