Minnesota suspends 10 football players indefinitely

Ten Minnesota football players indefinitely suspended by school.
Publish date:

Minnesota suspended 10 football players indefinitely from all team activities for undisclosed violations, the school announced Tuesday.

The school did not give specifics about why the players were suspended.

“Due to privacy restrictions relating to student educational data, there is nothing further the University can share," the school said in a statement obtained by the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

There is currently a Title IX investigation ongoing that is looking into the incident, according to attorney Lee Hutton, who represents the players.

The suspended players are redshirt freshman defensive back Ray Buford; sophomore running back Carlton Djam; freshman quarterback Seth Green; sophomore defensive back KiAnte Hardin; redshirt freshman defensive back Dior Johnson; freshman defensive lineman Tamarion Johnson; junior running back Kobe McCrary; sophomore defensive back Antonio Shenault; freshman quarterback Mark Williams; and freshman defensive back Antoine Winfield Jr.

Buford, Hardin, Dior Johnson and Tamarion Johnson each sat out three games earlier this season after authorities investigated an alleged incident on Sept. 2. The players were reinstated when prosecutors declined to press charges.

An underage football recruit was involved in the alleged sexual misconduct on Sept. 2, according to the Star Tribune.

The woman who made the allegations against the players was granted a restraining order which prevented them from being at TCF Bank Stadium in Minneapolis on game days. The restraining order was lifted on Nov. 2 after a settlement.

Minnesota takes Washington State in the National Funding Holiday Bowl on Dec. 27. Several Gopher football players announced their intention to boycott the upcoming game in solidarity with their punished teammates.

– Scooby Axson