UC Davis sets Hawkins' first schedule in 2017

Publish date:

(STATS) - An opening game at San Diego State and a rugged home schedule are part of UC Davis coach Dan Hawkins' first season with the Aggies in 2017.

The Big Sky Conference program announced an 11-game schedule on Monday. The Hawkins era will kick off Sept. 2 at San Diego State, a winner of two straight Mountain West Conference titles and last Saturday's Las Vegas Bowl. The two programs have never met previously.

Among the five home opponents, San Diego (Sept. 9), North Dakota (Sept. 30), Eastern Washington (Oct. 7) and Cal Poly (Oct. 28) each made the FCS playoffs. The other home game will be against Southern Utah on Nov. 11.

Hawkins was named UC Davis' coach on Nov. 28. The Aggies finished 3-8 this past season.


UC Davis Schedule

Sept. 2, at San Diego State

Sept. 9, San Diego

Sept. 16, at Portland State

Sept. 23, at Weber State*

Sept. 30, North Dakota*

Oct. 7, Eastern Washington*

Oct. 21, at Northern Arizona*

Oct. 28, Cal Poly*

Nov. 4, at Idaho State*

Nov. 11, Southern Utah*

Nov. 18, at Sacramento State*

* - Big Sky Conference game