Skip to main content

Jacksonville State headlines OVC preseason honors

  • Author:
  • Publish date:

(STATS) - Coaches and sports information directors weren't allowed to vote for their own school in the Ohio Valley Conference's preseason poll, but everyone who could vote for Jacksonville State understandably did at media day Monday in Nashville.

Jacksonville State, which has won 24 straight OVC games, received 16 of the 18 first-place votes and 128 points in the preseason poll, with UT Martin gaining the other two first-place votes - from Jacksonville State - while finishing second.

The Gamecocks (10-2 last season) also had the most selections on the OVC preseason team with nine. It included senior defensive end Darius Jackson, last year's conference defensive player of the year, who received the preseason honor as well.

UT Martin had six preseason picks and Tennessee State was third with five, including OVC preseason offensive player of the year Patrick Smith, a senior wide receiver.



Voted on by Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors

1. Jacksonville State (16 first-place votes), 128

2. UT Martin (2), 107

3. Tennessee State, 96

4. Eastern Illinois, 81

5. Eastern Kentucky, 68

6. Tennessee Tech, 61

7. Southeast Missouri, 42

8. Murray State, 41

9. Austin Peay, 21



Offensive Player of the Year - Patrick Smith, WR, Tennessee State

Defensive Player of the Year - Darius Jackson, DE, Jacksonville State


QB - Troy Cook, UT Martin, Sr.

RB - Roc Thomas, Jacksonville State, Sr.

RB - Jaimiee Bowe, UT Martin, Jr.

RB - Yeedee Thaenrat, Tennessee Tech, So.

WR - Patrick Smith, Tennessee State, Sr.

WR - Jordon Gandy, Murray State, Sr.

TE - Addison Bounds, Eastern Illinois, Sr.

C - Thomas Burton, Tennessee State, Jr.

OG - Justin Lea, Jacksonville State, Sr.

OG - Robert Burleigh, UT Martin, Sr.

OT - Dylan Cline, Jacksonville State, Jr.

OT - Kadarren Bond, UT Martin, Sr.


DL - Darius Jackson, Jacksonville State, Sr.

DL - Ebenezer Ogundeko, Tennessee State, Sr.

DL - Aaron Patrick, Eastern Kentucky, Jr.

DL - Randy Robinson, Jacksonville State, Jr.

LB - Siran Neal, Jacksonville State, Sr.

LB - Joel McCandless, Jacksonville State, Sr.

LB - Chad Meredith, Southeast Missouri, Sr.

DB - Marlon Bridges, Jacksonville State, So.

DB - Kahlid Hagens, UT Martin, Sr.

DB - Reggie Hall, Jacksonville State, Sr.

DB - D'Montre Wade, Murray State, Sr.

DB - Tae Martin, UT Martin, Sr.

Special Teams

PK - Lane Clark, Tennessee State, Sr.

P - Keith Wrzuszczak, Eastern Kentucky, Sr.

RS - Cameron Sanders, Southeast Missouri, Jr.

RS - Chris Rowland, Tennessee State, So.