Skip to main content

Four No. 1 Seeds Make Women’s Final Four: UConn, Notre Dame, Louisville and Mississippi State

UConn breezed by South Carolina on Monday night to advance to its 11th straight Final Four.

There were plenty of upsets along the way but the 2018 women’s NCAA tournament played out just the way the committee thought it would. All four No. 1 seeds advanced to the Final Four for the first time since 2015. 

In Monday night’s games, UConn breezed by South Carolina and Notre Dame prevailed in a tight one over Oregon. 

The Huskies beat the Gamecocks 94–65 in Albany, with all five starters scoring in double figures. South Carolina was led by four-time All-America choice A’ja Wilson, who scored a game-high 27 points but was one of only two Gamecocks players in double figures. 

The Irish beat the Ducks, 84–74, in Spokane. The injury-ravaged squad used only six players in the game, three of which played all 40 minutes. 

Scroll to Continue

SI Recommends

Mississippi State and Louisville qualified with Elite Eight wins on Sunday and the final spot in the national semifinals.

Louisville ended No. 6 Oregon State’s run with a 76–43 win in Lexington on Sunday and Mississippi State dispatched No. 3 UCLA 89–73 in Kansas City. 

This is the 11th straight year in which the Huskies have advanced to the Final Four. Notre Dame has now been to the Final Four on eight occasions, the fifth-most in women’s basketball history. It’s the second consecutive Final Four appearance for Mississippi State, the only two appearances in school history, while Louisville is in the Final Four for the third time and first since 2013. 

This year’s Final Four is in Columbus, Ohio, with the semifinals on Friday and the championship game on Sunday. Notre Dame faces UConn in one semifinal in a rematch of a Dec. 3 game that the Huskies won 80–71. (Notre Dame’s only other losses this season came to Louisville.) Louisville and Mississippi State will play in the other semifinal.