Maui Invitational: Everything You Need to Know About This Year's Tournament

This year's tournament features a potential title game between Duke and Gonzaga. 
Publish date:

The 2018 Maui Invitational is fast approaching, and this year's tournament features an especially strong field.

The three-day event, which traditionally runs Monday-Wednesday prior to Thanksgiving, will be held on Nov. 19-21 this year. No. 1 Duke headlines an intriguing field that also features two other top-10 teams (Gonzaga and Auburn). This year's tournament also includes traditional powerhouses in Arizona and Illinois, while NCAA tournament-hopefuls Xavier, San Diego State and Iowa State will also be making an appearance.

Teams in this year's field have a combined 27 Final Four outings, and Arizona (2014), Duke (2011) and Illinois (2012) have all won the invitational title in their last appearances. Duke in particular has never lost a Maui game, notching a 16–0 record en route to four tournament titles. 

Here is the schedule for the 2018 Maui Invitational:

Monday, Nov. 19

Game 1: Auburn vs. Xavier, 2:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2

Game 2: Duke vs. San Diego State, 5 p.m. on ESPN2

Game 3: Arizona vs. Iowa State, 9 p.m. on ESPNU

Game 4: Gonzaga vs. Illinois, 11:30 p.m. on ESPN2

Tuesday, Nov. 20

Game 5: Auburn-Xaiver loser vs. Duke-San Diego State loser, 2:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2

Game 6: Arizona-Iowa State loser vs. Gonzaga-Illinois loser, 5 p.m. ET on ESPN2

Game 7: Auburn-Xavier winner vs. Duke-San Diego State winner, 8 p.m. ET on ESPN

Game 8: Arizona-Iowa State winner vs. Gonzaga-Illinois winner, 10:30 p.m. ET on ESPN

Wednesday Nov. 21

Game 9: Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner, 2:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2

Game 10 (Championship game): Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner, 5 p.m. ET on ESPN

Game 11: Game 5 loser vs. Game 6 loser, 9 p.m. ET on ESPNU

Game 12: Game 7 loser vs. Game 8 loser, 11:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2