Pac-12 Suspends Referee After Awarding Penalty to Wrong Team

Author:
Publish date:
Cal-Washington-State-Ref-Suspended

The Pac-12 has suspended a referee for one game after the officiating crew of the California–Washington State game awarded a penalty to the wrong team.

Early in the third quarter, Washington State returned a kickoff to midfield, but a hands-to-face penalty called against the Cougars brought it back to the Washington State 8-yard line. As it turns out, the penalty was actually committed by a Cal player and should have given the Cougars’ run-back an extra 15 yards.

"After the next play was run, the referee informed Washington State that there was an error in application of the penalty," the conference said in a statement. "The penalty was on the kicking team number 15, not the receiving team, and the penalty should have been assessed on California at the end of the play with the ball spotted at California's 35-yard line."

According to the conference, the other officials from the game have been downgraded.

Following the penalty, Washington State was able to drive 74 yards before settling on a field goal.

California went on to beat Washington State 33–20, dropping the Cougars to 4–5 on the season.