FIFA 16 adding playable women's national teams for first time

1:23 | Extra Mustard
FIFA 16 adds women's teams for the first time in franchise history
Thursday May 28th, 2015

The next installment of the popular FIFA video game series is adding the ability to play with women's teams.

A new trailer for the game shows female players, including USWNT's Abby Wambach, Sydney Leroux and Alex Morgan, in both human and video game form, announcing that they are "in the game" for the first time in the more than 20-year history of the series. 

Morgan talked with game creator EA Sports about what it means to have her team in the game.

It is such an honor for women’s players and our team to be included in FIFA 16. I always wondered what it would be like to see our team in the game and it is very cool to know that it is now a reality. 

FIFA 16 will include 12 of the world's top women's national teams: USA, England, China, Spain, Germany, Italy, France, Brazil, Mexico, Canada, Australia and Sweden. The teams will exclusively play against other women's teams in the game, according to EA Sports.


Watch The Rock's rugby hype video


SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.