Six Cubs hit home runs in NLDS Game 3 win to set MLB postseason record

Kyle Schwarber, Starlin Castro, Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo, Jorge Soler and Dexter Fowler went deep for the Cubs on Monday night.
Publish date:

The Cubs set a postseason record for most home runs by one team as the team's first six players in the lineup clubbed home runs in Chicago's 8–6 victory over the St. Louis Cardinals in Game 3 of the National League Division Series.

Rookie outfielder Kyle Schwarber opened the flood gates with a solo home run to centerfield off Cardinals starter Michael Wacha. Starlin Castro notched his first of the postseason in the fourth inning.

In the fifth inning, Kris Bryant knocked Wacha out of the game with a two-run shot. First baseman Anthony Rizzo welcomed Kevin Siegrist with a home run just five pitches later.

Watch: Kris Bryant, Anthony Rizzo hit back-to-back home runs

Rightfielder Jorge Soler hit his second home run of the postseason in the sixth inning off recent addition to the bullpen Adam Wainwright.

Centerfielder Dexter Fowler's solo home run in the eighth set the major-league record.

The Cubs look to advance to the National League Championship Series for the first time since 2003. Chicago was swept in the National League Division Series by the Arizona Diamondbacks and Los Angeles Dodgers in 2007 and ’08. 

Game 4 is scheduled for Tuesday afternoon at Wrigley Field.

- Christopher Chavez