Brett Favre, Terrell Owens join 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists

1:11 | NFL
Brett Favre, Terrell Owens join 2016 Pro Football Hall of Fame finalists
Friday January 8th, 2016

First-year eligibles Brett Favre and Terrell Owens are among the 2016 crop of finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame announced Thursday night.

Favre, the former Packers quarterback, Owens, the mercurial wideout best known for his years with the 49ers, and former Steelers guard Alan Faneca are the three new eligible players, joining a group of incumbent aspirants from which just five can be elected each year.

Quarterback Kurt Warner, wide receiver Marvin Harrison, offensive tackle Orlando Pace, linebacker Kevin Greene and coach Tony Dungy were the five finalists who missed the final cut in 2015, and are again eligible for induction. Running backs Terrell Davis and Edgerrin James, offensive tackle Joe Jacoby, safeties John Lynch and Steve Atwater and kicker Morten Andersen round out the crop.

These modern-era finalists join senior finalists Ken Stabler, Dick Stanfel and Edward DeBartolo, Jr. for consideration.

The annual selection committee meeting will take place Feb. 6 in San Francisco.

 Jeremy Woo

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.