Atlanta, South Florida, Los Angeles awarded future Super Bowls

1:12 | NFL
NFL awards Super Bowls to Atlanta, South Florida, Los Angeles
Tuesday May 24th, 2016

Get breaking news and SI’s biggest stories instantly. Download the new Sports Illustrated app (iOS or Android) and personalize your experience by following your favorite teams and SI writers.

Following a meeting in Charlotte, N.C., on Tuesday, NFL owners voted to award Super Bowl LII to Atlanta, Super Bowl LIV to South Florida and Super Bowl LV to Los Angeles. 

In his MMQB column, Peter King predicted the Super Bowls will be awarded to Atlanta, South Florida and Los Angeles in that order.

Atlanta’s $1.4 billion Mercedes-Benz Stadium is set to open next year. Atlanta will host the College Football Playoff in 2018 and the NCAA tournament Final Four in 2020.

Football is already returning to Los Angeles with the Rams set to play the 2016–17 season there, and a new $2.6 billion stadium in Inglewood, Calif., will host the Super Bowl in 2021. The city hosted the first Super Bowl in 1967.

Raiders move to Las Vegas not on agenda at NFL owners meetings

Super Bowl LI will be held in Houston in February 2017. Minnesota will host Super Bowl LII in February 2018.

New Orleans and Tampa were also vying for hosting rights. 

Previous Super Bowls by City

Atlanta: 1994, 2000

New Orleans: 1970, 1972, 1975, 1978, 1981, 1986, 1990, 1997, 2002, 2013

Los Angeles: 1967, 1973, 1977, 1980, 1983, 1987, 1993

South Florida: 1968, 1969, 1971, 1976, 1979, 1989, 1995, 1999, 2007, 2010

Tampa: 1984, 1991, 2001, 2009

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.