Blackhawks C Andrew Shaw's game-winning headbutt goal disallowed
Chicago Blackhawks center Andrew Shaw appeared to score the game-winning goal in a strange fashion in Game 2 of the Western Conference Finals against the Anaheim Ducks on Tuesday night, head-butting the puck in at the 8:47 mark of the second overtime.
With the Blackhawks on a power play, Shaw found himself in position in front of the net when the puck ricocheted into the air. He then jumped and appeared to deliberately head the puck. Ducks goaltender Frederik Andersen couldn’t stop it and the game was over ... for the time being. The goal was disallowed following a review, but not before it caused a frenzy on Twitter over whether such a play is legal:
The rule in question for the play is 78.5 (i), which calls for the disallowing of a goal when “the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick.”
Montreal Canadiens forward Devante Smith-Pelly chimed in on Twitter with video of a similar play he had been a part of as a Ducks farmhand. Playing for the Owen Sound Attack of the OHL in May 2011, Smith-Pelly also headed in a goal that was later disallowed.
The Blackhawks and Ducks were tied 2–2 after two overtime periods, with Chicago later prevailing on a goal by Marcus Kruger at 16:12 of the third OT. The series is now tied at one game apiece and will move on to Chicago for Game 3 on Thursday night at 8 p.m. ET.