Patrice Bergeron, Anze Kopitar, Jonathan Toews voted Selke Trophy finalists

Publish date:

Chicago Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews had a +26 rating this season. (Dave Sandford/NHL/Getty Images)

Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews says he will play in Game 6. Dave Sandford/NHL/Getty Images)

Boston Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron, Los Angeles Kings forward Anze Kopitar and Chicago Blackhawks forward Jonathan Toews were named the three finalists for the 2013-14 Frank J. Selke Trophy, the league announced Thursday.

The award is given "to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game."

Bergeron is a finalist for the award for the third straight season after winning the award in 2012; Toews won the award last season. Bergeron led the NHL in face-off wins with 1,015 and was second in the NHL in plus-minus with a +38 rating.

MUIR: Top Line: Worst of Marc-Andre Fleury; Marchand fuels Bruins; more links

Kopitar led the Kings and with a career-high +34 rating and won more than half of his 1,451 face-offs.