2015 FRENCH OPEN: Tournament at a glance

A glance at the French Open, the year's second Grand Slam tennis tournament:

Site: Roland Garros in Paris.

Surface: Red clay.

Schedule: Play begins Sunday on all courts at 11 a.m. local time (5 a.m. EDT). The 15-day tournament closes with the women's singles final June 6, and the men's singles final June 7.

2014 Men's Singles Champion: Rafael Nadal of Spain.

2014 Women's Singles Champion: Maria Sharapova of Russia.

Last Year: Nadal beat Novak Djokovic of Serbia 3-6, 7-5, 6-2, 6-4 to win his ninth French Open championship and fifth in a row - both tournament records - and improve his career mark at Roland Garros to 66-1. Sharapova defeated Simona Halep of Romania 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-4 for her second French Open title in three years.

Key Statistic I: 5. Number of losses on clay already in 2015 for Nadal, the first time he's lost more than three in a year since going 11-6 on the surface in 2003.

Key Statistic II: 22. Djokovic's winning streak entering the French Open.

Key Statistic III: 19. Grand Slam singles titles for Serena Williams, third-most in tennis history.

Prize Money: Total is 28 million euros (about $31 million), an increase of 3 million euros (about $3.3 million) from 2014, with 1.8 million euros (about $2 million) each to the men's and women's singles champions.

Online: http://www.rolandgarros.com/index.html

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide—from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Andy Staples, Grant Wahl, and more—delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.