Who will be the best QB in 2016: Deshaun Watson or Baker Mayfield?

2:11 | College Football
Better 2016: Deshaun Watson or Baker Mayfield?
Friday July 1st, 2016

A quarterback failed to win the Heisman Trophy for the first time since 2009 last season, as Alabama running back Derrick Henry took the award. That doesn’t mean the 2015 season was short of elite quarterback play. Clemson’s Deshaun Watson and Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield both put together exceptional seasons that led them to third- and fourth-place finishes in the Heisman voting, respectively.

Watson edged Mayfield for the Davey O’Brien Award, but the battle begins anew this fall, both for the O’Brien Award and the Heisman. So which quarterback will have the better season in 2016? SI.com’s Colin Becht and Chris Johnson debate in the video above.

SI Apps
We've Got Apps Too
Get expert analysis, unrivaled access, and the award-winning storytelling only SI can provide — from Peter King, Tom Verducci, Lee Jenkins, Grant Wahl, Andy Staples and more — delivered straight to you, along with up-to-the-minute news and live scores.