By Rob Mahoney
May 22, 2014

Michael Carter-Williams (right) and Victor Oladipo were both selected to the All-Rookie First Team. (Jesse D. Garrabrant/NBAE via Getty Images)Michael Carter-Williams (right) and Victor Oladipo were both selected to the All-Rookie First Team. (Jesse D. Garrabrant/NBAE via Getty Images)

The NBA announced the for the 2014 All-Rookie First and Second Teams on Wednesday, headlined by Rookie of the Year Michael Carter-Williams.

Carter-Williams was the only unanimous selection for the All-Rookie First Team, though ROY runner-up Victor Oladipo curiously received 124 out of a possible 125 First-Team votes while being left off of one ballot entirely. They were joined on the First Team by Utah's Trey Burke, Brooklyn's Miles Plumlee and New York's Tim Hardaway Jr. Those five players also finished as the top five in Rookie of the Year voting.

The Second Team included Milwaukee's Giannis Antetokounmpo, Boston's Kelly Olynyk, Minnesota's Gorgui Dieng, Charlotte's Cody Zeller and Oklahoma City's Steven Adams.

To the extent that there could be a "snub" in a rookie class this light on immediate contributors, the honor would likely go to Memphis' Nick Calathes or Atlanta's Pero Antic -- both of whom played roles for playoff teams. The leading vote-getter to not make the cut was Sacramento's Ben McLemore, who came up just two voting points why of tying Adams for the final spot.

Whereas in previous seasons it was the NBA's coaches who determined the All-Rookie teams, this year the voting panel consisted of 125 sportswriters and broadcasters throughout the United States and Canada. Each was asked to select five players for the first team and five players for the second team, regardless of position.  Two points were awarded for first team votes and one for second team votes.

Of the 10 players selected to the All-Rookie Teams, six were 2013 lottery picks and four were non-lottery first-round picks. This was the first time since 2000 that no player selected in the second round was chosen to the All-Rookie teams.

Only two players selected with the top eight picks in the 2013 draft were selected for All-Rookie honors, though one of those players (Nerlens Noel) did not play this season. Otherwise, Cleveland's Anthony Bennett, Detroit's Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Portland's C.J. McCollum and Phoenix's Len received votes. Washington's Otto Porter, who played just 319 minutes, did not. The only other ottery pick to not receive a single vote was Minnesota's Shabazz Muhammad.

Below are the full voting results:

Screen Shot 2014-05-22 at 1.06.44 PM

You May Like