Joe Robbins/Getty Images
By SI Wire
July 10, 2014

This year's MLB All-Star Game, the 85th edition of the Midsummer Classic, will be played at Target Field in Minneapolis, home of the Minnesota Twins. For the 12th time, the winning league will have home field advantage in the World Series. 

Chris Sale and Anthony Rizzo won the Final Vote to earn spots in the game. Despite being voted in as a starter, Yadier Molina will miss the game after undergoing thumb surgery. Yankees pitcher Masahiro Tanaka will not participate either; he was placed on the disabled list with an injured elbow in his pitching arm. 

Here's all you need to know:


Start Time: 8:00 p.m. ET

TV coverage: Begins on Tuesday, July 15, at 7:30 ET on FOX

Live stream: For the first time, Premium subscribers will be able to stream the game live. 


C Salvador Perez

1B Miguel Cabrera

2B Robinson Cano

SS Derek Jeter

3B Josh Donaldson

OF Jose Bautista

OF Mike Trout

OF Adam Jones

DH Nelson Cruz


P Dellin Betances

P Mark Buehrle

P Yu Darvish

P Sean Doolittle

P Felix Hernandez

P Greg Holland

P Scott Kazmir

P Jon Lester

P Glen Perkins

P David Price

P Chris Sale

P Max Scherzer

​P Masahiro Tanaka

P Koji Uehara

​1B Jose Abreu

2B Jose Altuve

​SS Erick Aybar

3B Adrian Beltre

​OF Michael Brantley

OF Yoenis Cespedes

1B Edwin Encarnacion

OF Alex Gordon

DH Victor Martinez

1B Brandon Moss

C Derek Norris

SS Alexei Ramirez

3B Kyle Seager

​C Kurt Suzuki

C Matt Wieters (injured)


C Yadier Molina (injured)

1B Paul Goldschmidt

2B Chase Utley

SS Troy Tulowitzki

3B Aramis Ramirez

OF Carlos Gomez

OF Andrew McCutchen

OF Yasiel Puig


P Madison Bumgarner

​P Aroldis Chapman

P Johnny Cueto

P Zack Greinke

P Clayton Kershaw

P Craig Kimbrel

P Pat Neshek

​P Francisco Rodriguez

P Tyson Ross

P Jeff Samardzija (traded to A's)

P Julio Teheran

P Adam Wainwright

P Tony Watson

P Jordan Zimmermann

​OF Charlie Blackmon

3B Matt Carpenter

SS Starlin Castro

3B Todd Frazier

1B Freddie Freeman

2B Dee Gordon

OF Josh Harrison

C Jonathan Lucroy

C Devin Mesoraco

2B Daniel Murphy

OF Hunter Pence

1B Anthony Rizzo

OF Giancarlo Stanton

Previous results:

2013: American League wins 3-0. MVP: Mariano Rivera

2012: National League wins 8-0. MVP: Melky Cabrera

2011: National League wins 5-1. MVP: Prince Fielder

2010: National League wins 3-1. MVP: Brian McCann

2009: American League wins 4-3. MVP: Carl Crawford

2008: American League wins 4-3. MVP: J.D. Drew

2007: American League wins 5-4. MVP: Ichiro Suzuki

2006: American League wins 3-2. MVP:  Michael Young

2005: American League wins 7-5. MVP: Miguel Tejada

2004: American League wins 9-4. MVP: Alfonso Soriano

You May Like

Eagle (-2)
Birdie (-1)
Bogey (+1)
Double Bogey (+2)