AP Photo/Ryan Kang

Florida jumper Marquis Dendy and Oregon sprinter Jenna Prandini win the 2015 Bowerman Award. 

By SI Wire
December 17, 2015

Florida jumper Marquis Dendy and Oregon sprinter Jenna Prandini won the 2015 Bowerman Award presented by the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association in San Antonio, Texas.

The Bowerman Award is considered the Heisman trophy of NCAA track and field.

Dendy was chosen over Akron pole vaulter Shawn Barber and Oregon distance runner Edward Cheserek.

Dendy won seven national titles and 13 All-American honors with the Gators. His national-title winning mark of 8.68-meters (28'5.75") in the long jump was the world's best mark of the year under all conditions. He also has the third-best all-conditions triple jump mark in the world for 2015 at 17.71-meters (58'1.25").

Olympic gold medalist triple jumper Christian Taylor and world championship silver medalist 400-meter sprinter Tony McQuay are the only previous Gators nominated for the Bowerman in 2011 and 2012, respectively. Neither won the honor.

Prandini was chosen over Kentucky hurdler Kendra Harrison and Stephen F. Austin pole vaulter Demi Payne. 

Prandini, who signed a professional contract with Puma after the 2015 college season, helped the Oregon Ducks contend for the NCAA title as she combined for a 49 point total at the championships. She also represented the U.S. in the 200-meter dash at the world championships in Beijing. She was a member of the silver-medal winning 4x100-meter relay. 

The award is named in honor of former Oregon Ducks track and field coach Bill Bowerman, who trained more than 30 Olympians and 51 All-Americans. In his time with the Ducks, he also won four NCAA team titles.

- Christopher Chavez

You May Like